Callaghan College

Collaborating to Empower Learners

Telephone0436 807 676

Learning at our school

We offer the most extensive range of curriculum in the Hunter

Our teaching and learning programs at Callaghan College aim to foster a passion for learning that will stay with students throughout their lifetime. 

The curriculum is organised according to the guidelines by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA, see further information below). In addition to the mandatory courses, each Campus offers an extensive range of additional elective courses.

Due to our unique College design, Callaghan College boasts the largest curriculum choice in Newcastle – with our senior students having over 65 subject options to choose from, including a number which are supported by industry partnerships.

Our middle campuses also offer a comprehensive range of courses, including choice of subject selection for a specialised learning pathway. In addition to their core curriculum, every student can explore additional learning opportunities in areas such as Creative and Performing Arts, STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics), Humanities and Sport.

We also offer Special Education classes for students with moderate to high learning and support needs who require a specialist learning setting. Students in our Support Units follow a full academic program as well as additional activities and programs focused on fostering life skills.

Unique and Individual pathways

At Callaghan College we recognise that every learner is different. Our teaching staff across the College collaborate to design learning opportunities which build future learning capabilities for each child. A focus on communication, critical thinking, collaboration and creativity are embedded in Callaghan’s daily practice. 

Every day we are connecting learning experiences to real world questions, problems and challenges. For specific curriculum information, go to the Faculty pages on our individual Campus sites. 


NSW Education Department Syllabus information

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.